i heart sewing.

2 Feb

I decided to teach myself to sew at the very end of October 2010, when one of my friends needed a cape for her Wonder Woman halloween costume. Neither one of us knew how to thread a sewing machine or bobbin at that point. We watched youtube video after youtube video just looking for something that would help us. Sure enough, after reading the manual watching countless videos, we figured it out. (We were like Lucy and Ethel with that darn machine… it was quite a sight!)

In November, I really decided I wanted to learn more than just ‘how to stitch a straight line’ so I took on the task of teaching myself (and am still teaching myself). I have learned about tension (again, still learning!), following a pattern, creating a pattern, and much much more. For a while, I was really irritated with my machine because the tension issue was eating away at me. I didn’t even want to look at it (that is why I only have a handful of projects completed). Through different blogs, especially Gussy, I’ve really been inspired to sit back down at my machine and really hash it out. I mean, who doesn’t get frustrated every once in a while? I was to the point where I wanted to chunk it out the window. SO glad I didn’t. Or else I wouldn’t ever be able to make gifts like these for friends anymore:

  • Shirt: $5 Target shirt with double pleats made from an old white T in Jeremy’s drawer :]
  • Baby shoes: made for a friend who should be having her baby any day now!
  • Coffee Cozy

What I’ve learned: [in the past 3 months]
1. Walk away when you get frustrated.
2. Measure twice, cut once. [Kim from Oh Sweet Joy told me today about this really cute printable on her blog! love it…& her!]
3. If you notice you are not caring as much about the project as you did in the beginning, walk away. No one likes sloppy work.
4. Pinning fabric together is a necessity.
5. Tension issues are inevitable. Adjust the tension for different fabrics and thickness.
6. When Jeremy calls me away from the sewing machine to snuggle on the couch– go cuddle. He comes first.
7. read. Read. READ. (and study) the pattern and instructions.
8. It’s ok to break a needle. It happens.
9. No pain, No gain.
10. Keep chocolate nearby. Thanks Mandy for the Smarties!

xoxo

5 Responses to “i heart sewing.”

  1. cristie February 2, 2011 at 11:31 am #

    i heart kimber. 🙂

  2. kim davis February 2, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    great post! did you see my measure twice cut once free printable?! 🙂

    • kimber February 2, 2011 at 1:46 pm #

      Thanks! I didn’t but I will have to check it out. Someone said that at work the other day and I had a “duh!!!” moment 🙂 by the way, love your blog and shop! Right up my ally. So cute!

  3. kim davis February 2, 2011 at 1:34 pm #

    oh and number 6? yes. 🙂

  4. heartsandcrowns February 2, 2011 at 7:51 pm #

    I took sewing classes for 3 years when i was younger and you are doing awesome, especilly for just starting out!

Leave a Reply

