uhh that’s awkward

8 Feb

Do you ever have those moments where you think to yourself “Did I seriously just say that? Oh my gosh. I’m that awkward person in the room.” Well, let me tell you something….I am that person. It happens to me ALL of the time. I don’t get it.

Last night I was seeing someone that I haven’t seen in a really long time.. Here’s what went down:

Me- “Hey, how are you?” (lean in for that awkward side hug)
Them- “Great, how are you?” (semi hugs back)
Me- “Doing really great, how are you?” —- FOR REAL did I just do that? awesome. ohh ha..uh.. ha I just said that. ha”

So I walked off… you could call me the awkard conversation ‘fleer’.

—–

Or how about the time you see someone (just one person) at Target and it totally catches you off guard and then you say, OK well see you guys later!” (you guys??? great, now they think that I think that they are fat.)

Or when someone says. Happy Birthday girl” and I chime in with,Happy Birthday to you too!”

I am terrible with conversations with people when I’m intimidated by them. I totally forget everything. I forgot where I worked the other day. I forget where I live when I’m trying to explain the area. I try to remember with You know, over by that new shopping area on 35…what’s that street called? totally blanked.” (ha omg I can’t believe I can’t remember. ahhhh!!) Then they answer with, Oh no, actually I don’t. so sorry.”— well let me just walk away, do some googling on where I live, and get back to you. FOR REAL?!

It’s a bit ridiculous at times. Phone calls are the worst. I called my dentist the other day to schedule an appointment for my husband and I a couple of weeks ago. The receptionist answered and asked, Do you mind if I put you on hold?”. Without delay I quickly responded, “Yes.” in a really upbeat tone. I mean’t “no”. but did that come out? of course it didn’t. She didn’t know what to say. I put her in the awkward spot. awesome.

ohhh man. I need help.

Do you ever have awkward moments? please, tell me them. It will make me feel better. 🙂

 

7 Responses to “uhh that’s awkward”

  1. Hayley February 8, 2011 at 8:04 am #

    I’ve totally done the how are you thing!!

  2. Kayla February 9, 2011 at 10:22 pm #

    Let’s try this one:

    A worker at a fast food restaurant: “Enjoy your meal.”
    Me: “You too.”

    Or this one:
    I step on someone’s toe and I say “Ouch.”

    But while I was reading this, I was reminded of you telling Susannah that you hope you see her again (:

    • kimber February 9, 2011 at 10:26 pm #

      haha! I totally forgot about that. ya, see… I’m can be awkward…. 🙂

  3. Tiffany Kraght February 10, 2011 at 5:26 pm #

    i just popped over here from the indie business site, and i just read this post. you are sooo funny. you remind me of me. in high school i used to leave my keys all over the place. so, i *thought* i had a good idea. i would attach my name, phone number and address to the keys. so then when someone found them, they were able to return them to me. i seriously thought i had such a good idea…i told my uncle (who i lived with, my mom died) and he just looked at me like i was insane. he said to me, “so then they will know where we live and have the keys too?” i guess i hadn’t thought about that. and, so i’m not saying that YOU would ever do or think of something so dumb, but your post made me laugh so hard that i don’t know. it was just the first thing i thought of….

    i’ll have to come back and poke around tomorrow when i have time!!

    ~tiff

    • kimber February 15, 2011 at 12:05 pm #

      oh my gosh. hahaa you made me laugh so hard! tiff, i have a feeling we are going to be great friends 🙂 oh, and by the way, i have curly hair too. REAL curly. see. we are already meant to be friends 🙂 can’t wait to get to know you better!

  4. Tiffany Kraght February 15, 2011 at 12:21 pm #

    well, i would love to see your curly hair, but i’ve scoured your pics and can’t find any!! i used to straighten it every.single.day, but it’s just too much work and i actually am so grateful it’s curly now. i get so many compliments on it…

    oh, can you believe they postponed the first indie post until later today? i was so excited yesterday!!!

    ~tiff

    • kimber February 18, 2011 at 5:47 pm #

      I made a post just for you showing off my crazy hair 🙂 I straighten my hair every couple of days. Lately I’ve just left it curly for some reason.. I think it’s just because it’s easier. 🙂

Leave a Reply

