i love the sense of accomplishment :]

9 Feb

Remember when I was having ridiculous issues with the tension on my sewing machine while trying to make this bag? Well, guess who was a silly goof? 😉 I was threading the bobbin wrong all along and it was giving me grief every time I would try to sew. On Monday night, a few of us girls went to my mother-in-love’s house to be crafty and create junk, and they showed me the proper way to thread a bobbin. It was glorious! I have been a sewing fool ever since then. Thank you, Sara Kay!

Tonight, I sat down with my lovely machine, prayed over it (of course), and threaded my bobbin…the correct way. I pulled out the little zip lock bag that held all of the pieces to the pattern and whipped up a dainty little bag for my sister’s birthday. I am totally ruining her surprise but I honestly don’t think she will mind. I tell my sisters everything so I am forced to let them know of my accomplishments. Plus, I am so excited and I just can’t hide it. :] I think she will understand.

COMMANDMENT: check out Gussy, the one who inspired it all! She is amazing. If you love ruffles and all things cute, she is your girl. I’ve decided that I want to be blog BFFs with her. No laughing, it will happen. 🙂

12 Responses to “i love the sense of accomplishment :]”

  1. Mandi February 9, 2011 at 10:19 pm #

    YAY glad to hear you conquered your bobbin-issue. Very cute bag you made (And I hear ya on the Gussy-love: she makes beautiful stuff too!)

  2. laura February 9, 2011 at 10:33 pm #

    Yay! It looks great.

  3. minnie February 9, 2011 at 10:34 pm #

    Yaaaay!!! So glad you figured out your bobbin “issue”! Aren’t you glad you didn’t take it to a shop??

    • kimber February 9, 2011 at 10:39 pm #

      yes! so grateful! I was just being a doofus 🙂

  4. Gussy February 9, 2011 at 11:14 pm #

    yeah!!! — let’s be BFFs ♥

    • Cristie Campbell February 9, 2011 at 11:33 pm #

      Um….wow. You are amazing. I love you!

    • kimber February 15, 2011 at 12:07 pm #

      Yay! high five! I’ll be coming over later to borrow some clothes. 😉

  5. Sarah February 10, 2011 at 1:01 am #

    For me?! I LOVE it…super cute! I can always use little such bags! See you soon…much lurv!(insert our favorite word here!)

  6. Amber Grubbs February 10, 2011 at 8:54 am #

    so proud of you!

  7. No.17 Cherry Tree Lane February 13, 2011 at 4:50 pm #

    adorable! so cute!

  8. eleventh monkey February 15, 2011 at 9:37 pm #

    Hmm I’m having problems with my tension too, but I believe I am threading the bobbin right, I checked the booklet…. Maybe it’s because I’m trying to sew felt.
    Glad your problem is gone and you’ve made such a cute little bag! Makes me want to try that too!

Leave a Reply

